Winners of inaugural Macao film festival announced

trespassagainstusThe 1st International Film Festival & Awards Macao in Southern China came to an end on December 14.

A jury headed by filmmaker Shekhar Kapur announced the winners of this inaugural edition during an award ceremony. Commenting on the first edition of what aims to be a major film event of the year, President of Organizing Committee of IFFAM Ms. Maria Helena de Senna Fernandes said: “This inaugural edition of the Film Festival not only has elevated Macao’s international reputation, boosted the synergy between tourism and culture and promoted local tourism development, but also introduced world class exchange opportunities, functioned as a regional exchange platform and empowered the local film industry as well as the cultural and creative industry to progress, while widening the cultural perspectives of our local residents and bringing multi-faceted benefits to Macao at large.”

Jury president Shekhar Kapur commented, “This is one of the best juries I’ve worked with; we took our responsibility very seriously, because we understand how important these awards are to the filmmakers. I do not like to use the word ‘judge’, because judgement could imply personal prejudice, but rather use the word ‘respond’. Respond emotionally to the films, to the artists, in context of our understanding of their intentions. We’ve had some intense arguments amongst ourselves, which only goes to show the great quality of films that we’ve seen, and how passionately each one of us felt about them. I assure you, ladies and gentlemen, the choices were hard fought and difficult to make.”

Here is the list of winners of the 1st edition of the 1st International Film Festival & Awards Macao:

TRESPASS AGAINST US by Adam Smith (United Kingdom)

MARCO MARTINS for Saint George (Portugal)

NUNO LOPES for Sait George (Portugal)

LINDSEY MARSHAL for Trespass Against Us (United Kingdom)

JENNIFER YU for Sisterhood (China)

Amy Jump and Ben Wheatley for FREE FIRE (France / United Kingdom)

Pablo Lamar (original music and sound design); Daniel Saavedra (original soundtrack) for ELON DOESN’T BELIEVE IN DEATH (Brazil)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s