Screenwriter Peter Morgan receives BFI Fellowship


Peter Morgan CBE, screenwriter of such films as The Queen and Frost/Nixon, was awarded the BFI Fellowship at the annual BFI Chairman’s dinner on February 21.

The award was presented to Morgan by Dame Helen Mirren, who famously played Queen Elisabeth in Morgan’s 2006 film The Queen, directed by Stephen Frears.

On presenting Morgan with the BFI Fellowship, Mirren said: “Seemingly effortlessly spanning the different demands of writing for television plays, mini-series, the stage and feature films, the output of this driven, brilliant, clever, complex and lovely man is a British phenomenon and I am thrilled to be here tonight as part of this deserved and fantastic recognition.”

The BFI Fellowship, the highest accolade presented by the British Film Institute, is awarded to individuals in recognition of their oustanding contribution to film or television culture. Since its creation in 1983, a total of 81 Fellowships have been awarded. Honourees have included Judi Dench, Laurence Olivier, Michelangelo Antonioni, Akira Kurosawa, Jeanne Moreau, Mike Leigh and Bernardo Bertolucci.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s